LiVe For Photography:


Light on architecture

A few years already I am following digital  photography classes at the academy of Leuven.  With the start of the Easter Holiday’s, I have completed yet another term. And yess,… I have passed!

The themes and tasks we have to deal with are very divers, from portraits outside to object photography in a studio set-up. I didn’t show much of the pictures I made for school on this blog so far. Let’s change that from now on!

For the ‘Architecture task’ last term we had to photograph a building in its environment. We had to correct the image in postprocessing to keep the vertical lines vertical.

After I had chosen this building of an industrial site in Mechelen, I decided to go back at sunset to take -more or less- the same picture in totally different light circumstances.

As you can see, not a single spotlight was used to light up this building at night. I know it is impossible to light a building like with small off-camera flashes. Nevertheless, being in an experimental mood, I tried to give the building a small ‘light-accent’. I put on the self-timer (I gave myself 20 sec to reach the building) and pointed my SB600-flash at the parts I wanted to be ‘in the spotlight’. I hope you can notice!




2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Ik heb dit gebouw ook net voor en net na zonsondergang gefotografeerd. wie wil kan deze opnamen hier terug vinden. Bedankt voor jullie commentaren en voor het kijken! __________________ NIKON D50 […]

Pingback by Campus Mechelen - Belgiumdigital forum - Digitale fotografie

Knappe foto’s ! 😉

Comment by Phille




Leave a comment